Yuri Pattison

The Everywhere Studio | Institute of Contemporary Art, Miami

1 December 2017 - 26 February 2018

The Institute of Contemporary Art, Miami will open its new permanent home on December 1, 2017 with a major group exhibition exploring the significance of the artist’s studio, from the post-war period to the present day.

Encompassing some 100 works in painting, sculpture, video, and installation, The Everywhere Studio brings together over 50 artists from the past five decades to reveal the artist’s studio as a charged site that has both predicted and responded to broader social and economic changes of our time. Through a combination of post-war artists through emerging practitioners—including Pablo Picasso, Yves Klein, Philip Guston, Bruce Nauman, Carolee Schneemann, Dieter Roth, Andy Warhol, Martin Kippenberger, Rosemarie Trockel, Elaine Sturtevant, Anna Oppermann, Joyce Pensato, Andrea Zittel, and Tetsumi Kudo, among others—the exhibition aims to create intergenerational dialogues that enhance understanding of the most innovative artists working today.

From the studio as a site of labor; to one that blurs production, performance, and spectacle; to a concept that defines the artist’s own identity; the exhibition examines the work of artists who, in response to changing socioeconomic influences, represented new modes of working and living that would subsequently spread across society. Newly commissioned works by Neïl Beloufa, Matthew Angelo Harrison, Margaret Honda, and Yuri Pattison, conclude the exhibition with current reflections on our digital age and the impact of technology on society.

Featured Artists: Art & Language, John Baldessari, Matthew Barney, Joseph Beuys, Neïl Beloufa, Heidi Bucher, Stuart Brisley, Alan Charlton, Marc Camille- Chaimowicz, Christo, Hanne Darboven, Jay DeFeo, Cheryl Donegan, Nicole Eisenman, Jana Euler, Rochelle Feinstein, Peter Fischli and David Weiss, Gilbert & George, Rodney Graham, Philip Guston, Wade Guyton, David Hammons, Matthew Angelo Harrison, Margaret Honda, Jörg Immendorff, Edward and Nancy Kienholz, Martin Kippenberger, Yves Klein, Tetsumi Kudo, Sean Landers, Roy Lichtenstein, Kerry James Marshall, Paul McCarthy, Bruce Nauman, Mike Nelson, Anna Oppermann, Giulio Paolini, Yuri Pattison, Joyce Pensato, Pablo Picasso, Laure Prouvost, Faith Ringgold, Jason Rhoades, Dieter Roth, Lucas Samaras, Carolee Schneemann, Miriam Schapiro, Avery Singer, Daniel Spoerri, Frances Stark, Sturtevant, Rosemarie Trockel, Andy Warhol, and Andrea Zittel.

“The Everywhere Studio” is organized by ICA Miami and curated by Deputy Director & Chief Curator Alex Gartenfeld, Curator of Programs Gean Moreno, and Associate Curator Stephanie Seidel. This exhibition will inaugurate the museum’s new permanent home in the Miami Design District.

“The Everywhere Studio” is made possible with the generous support of the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation. Major support provided by Art Mentor Foundation Lucerne; and the Dr. Kira and Mr. Neil Flanzraich Fund for Curatorial Research at ICA Miami. Additional support provided by The Jacques and Natasha Gelman Foundation.

© 2006-2023 mother’s tankstation limited